Vegetarianism

lamb-burgers.jpg soy-bean.jpg

A lot of people question me on vegetarianism. I am after all, a vegetarian, I also dont drink alchohol, nor do I drink coffee, and I only drink green teas.

I am in fact one of life’s awkward squad, I think that it is vital to make lifestyle choices that are in harmony with your beliefs. So I recently vowed to myself that I wouldnt buy any clothing that I didnt need, and if I did buy clothing it would a) be second hand, or b) be ethically sourced (organic cotton/fair trade / locally sourced, whatever is most appropriate).

That is whay I was encouraged this morning to read Steve Taylor’s post about vegetarianism. He rattles off in good form some of the key arguments for being a vegetarian. And there are more too, I would suggest that in fact, with the amount of proteins that are pumped into meat these days, and the way that most animals are intensively farmed, it is better for your body not to eat meat.

I do know a bit about animal husbandry by the way, I grew up on farms, as my dad was a shepherd for a number of years.
Moreover, I consider it a justice issue, by eating meat we are tacitly condoning a form of food production which means that many cannot be fed, and which destroys habitats for both flora, fauna, and human beings!

But before I get too elevated on my high horse, I should make this admission, and this goes for alchohol as well… the initial reason I chose not to eat meat, or drink booze, is that I dont like them. I never liked meat, nor have I ever been able to stomach alchohol. And as for coffee….

And a further admission, I do eat meat when I’m travelling, my reason for this is that when you are offered a meal by someone who is honouring you with the best meal they have, then it is spiteful to turn it down becuase of vegetarianism.

It’s a complicated issue (what isnt?) and not one worth falling out about, but I would urge you to consider, have you thought enough about the way you eat?

2 thoughts on “Vegetarianism

  1. ah yes, i have given this some thought in the past year or so.

    http://www.annieporthouse.com/?p=58
    http://www.annieporthouse.com/?p=59

    i am interested in what you say about eating meat when offered to you, as a visitor… that doesn’t sound like most vegetarians! (but i like it)

    i now try to just BUY ‘ethical’ meat and dairy, but then i still wonder about going out for a meal, etc… how do i know where THEIR meat/dairy has come from? sometimes i can find out, but not always.
    tricky.

Leave a Reply

