shane claiborne podcast

I picked this link up from Mark Berry’s great blog the other day, and only got a chance to listen to it tonight.  It’s a challenging call to a radical lifestyle which eludes most of us, including me.

newmonastics-1-tm.jpg

If you read about him, please dont be put off by people calling him naff things like ‘the coolest Christian ever’ he has something important to say, and I dont get the impression that he is so ‘cool’ he’s stuck up his own orifice, on the contrary, living in community probably helps him have a very healthy sense of self.

I personally find voices like Claiborne’s both encouraging and convicting at the same time, his is a call to a very different way of living, one which presents massive challenges to all of us.

While I like to think I identify with what he says, in my heart I know that I fall way short of the standard that he and others in his community set in terms of how they live together, I guess he’s a kind of John the Baptist voice, he looks a bit like him too.  With glasses though…

Perhaps because I’m ignorant, or just not well enough versed in the right literature, but while I am well aware of the phenomenom of ‘new monasticism’, I hadnt heard of Claiborne before, I am glad I now have.  Well worth checking this out.

shane_stern.jpg

He also has his own homepage, should you wish to read more, and cant be bothered to google him…

Talking of Mark Berry, by the way, I think he will be hooking up with us in South Wales sometime in the autumn, to lead an evening of prayer/worship.  Should be fun.

One thought on “shane claiborne podcast

Leave a Reply

