At last someone talks sense about Radiohead

And their so called ‘free’ album.

I’m sick of it.

I’m sick of their whining vocals for a start.

And their overhyped music.

But even more than that.

I’m sick of all the crap that’s been talked about this wretched album.

Even that burk of a toff who leads the CONservative party has bumptiously jumped on their bandwagon.

Why cant people see its a con?

Except, I’m glad to say for my old friend, turned superstar musician Steve Lawson who points out succintly:

Radiohead didn’t ‘give away their album for free’: no, what they did was use a low-ish resolution copy of most of the tracks from the album as a way of generating MASSIVE publicity for a normal CD release, but also monetized their obsessional fan-base by selling vinyl to people who don’t even own record players. They used the leverage they had from already being one of the world’s most successful bands to create MILLIONS of pounds worth of column inches and airtime in every conceivable media channel. The amount of money they ‘made’ from their venture HAS to have factored in the amount of money they SAVED that they would normally have spent on advertising, and the amount over and above any ad campaign they could ever afford that they got from the stunt.”

Yes!  That’s the point.  IT WAS A STUNT.

I expect that Steve, being the old muso that he is, probably likes Radiohead, and he has every right to.

But I don’t, I dont like their music, I dont like their style, and most of all I really object to their quasi anti establisment bull shit.

GUESS WHAT GUYS – YOU’RE PART OF THE SYSTEM – STOP TRYING TO SCAM US INTO THINKING YOU’RE GIVING AWAY YOUR STUFF.

Nice to get that off my chest.

Leave a Reply

