Greenbelt

This weekend I wont be doing any gardening, I’ll be at Cheltenham racecourse with Kel and the kids, savouring the sights and sounds of the Greenbelt festival.

I went to Greenbelt once before, many many moons ago, when I were ‘but a lad’. I enjoyed it, I saw Jah Wobble and most exciting to me at the time, Midnight Oil! Although I was always a bit sad they never played Beds are Burning or Bullroarer, still love those tracks.

Anyway, its been many a year since I went to the festival, and I’m looking forward to it this year, hope to catch a few good acts, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble are playing, they’re mint. Also The Apples who I have loved since hearing them on Craig Charles’ funk and soul show, as well as a billion of other groups, including better known types like Royksopp, Athlete and Cornershop, who will all put on a good show I’m sure.

There are speakers galore, including the hilarious and insightful Rob Bell, and the brilliant Alastair McIntosh, as well as my one time comic co-conspirator Jeff Anderson who’s doing a panel on the future of comics with some other creators.

It’s also a gpood chance for me to get a look at what’s new and happening in the world of alternative worship, which will be handy as I’ve a number of sessions lined up to do in the Autumn.

I’m looking forward to seeing some old friends, making some new ones, and getting to meet a few people who I’ve only spoken to via cyberspace, if you’re going to be there, please say hello, I’m the one who looks a bit confused.

We’re travelling friday morning, back monday night or tuesday morning, might just manage to get a blog post in before then, if I dont, see y’all soon.

Leave a Reply

