casualties

I was suprised to hear a lad I went to school with many years ago on the radio the other morning. Suprised at first because I’d forgotten he existed, and then because of all the kids at my school, he was probably the least likely to turn up on the Today programme.

The interview was to do with the fact that during a tour in Iraq, Lance Corporal Dryden had been blown up in a roadside bomb, the bomb killed his friend and blew off Mark’s right arm, he also lost the use of left.

I recently found this article from last year in the Indpendent, I wish Mark all the best. This is a war that should never have happened, and his injury, not to mention the death of his colleague is another tragic reminder of that fact.

Leave a Reply

