Michael Foot

Sad to hear yesterday of Michael Foot’s death, a real champion of the Left, and a great hero to many of us. It’s good to know that idealists can make an impact, be funny, and live a long life of passion.

There are lots of good quotes from him, and lots of eulogising articles, particularly of course,  in the Guardian, but my favourite quote of his, and I know this is actually a paraphrase cause I can’t remember it exactly, was when he described himself as an ‘inveterate peace monger’ – what a great thing to be. I hope I can say the same thing about myself.

Leave a Reply

