Totally Devoted

The book that has been known until now as ‘New Monasticism UK’ by Simon Cross, shall henceforth be known as: Totally Devoted – the challenge of new monasticism.

To be honest this late change of titles has come as a bit of a shock to me – stuck in my ways? Moi? But I can cope, just about. Actually, as I use quite a few pop culture references here and there in the book, as chapter headings and so on, it’s kind of appropriate that the title is also a song title.

And apparently its much less off putting than the old title too, which means obviously that it will soar to the top of the best-seller list, and I shall be pursued by publishers, and never have to do an honest days work again. Ahem.

Anyway, I’m going to be releasing some sample pieces of text to whet your appetite, or pique your interest (got it right this time Keith) over the next few weeks, and when I get a firm release date – when you can get it in actual shops, I’ll let you know.

It’s all rather exciting for me again, I’d more or less forgotten about it for a while, its been so jolly long since I wrote it!

On the cover by the way is a picture of some snow drops which I took when I met up with James Stacey at Little Gidding, in Cambridgeshire. Little Gidding is one of those pivotal places in the whole idea of ‘new monasticism’ – where lots has happened, and a great deal of inspiration has been found. A number of communities which exist today were founded by people who were impressed by ‘the utter sanity’ of a way of life which we could describe as ‘new monastic’.

Here’s what some very kind people have said about the book:

‘Here is another piece of evidence that there is a movement once again hearing the ancient whisper of God to repair the Church which is in ruins.’
Shane Claiborne

‘Celebrating treasures old and new, this book is an invaluable tool for those who want to begin to explore the new monastic lifestyle.’
David Mitchell (Pastor of Woodlands Church Bristol)

‘Simon Cross introduces a beautiful landscape of small communities springing up through the cracks of our world’s broken systems. They sparkle with promise of a hope and future.’
Jonathan Wilson-Hartgrove

‘For those seeking to be effective in mission in our current culture Totally Devoted will be an important piece of the picture.’
Dr Peter Atkins (Fresh Expressions member and church leader)

Ooooof – I didnt even pay them nor nothing.

And by the way, see if you do a search on Amazon for ‘Simon Cross’ – and you find a book called ‘Mediating Madness: Mental Distress and Cultural Representation’ – that wasnt me that wrote it. It’s way too clever to have been me. There are some very high standard Simon Crosses knocking about you know.

Leave a Reply

