IRB world rankings

I know I’m in danger of setting myself up for disappointment again, but I can’t help feeling gleeful that Scotland are now sixth in the IRB world rankings, thanks to our showing against the Boks at the weekend.

Yes I know we didnt score tries, but lets be honest, tries against a team with defensive strengths like that are hard to come by. But we showed verve, enthusiasm, power in the forwards and dogged determination in the back line – I’m not complaining about a kicked win against the World Champions.

Could it be at last that we can put the last ten years behind us, and get on with being a great team again? I hope so, because I’m in danger of wanting to watch the six nations games again next year, after banning myself last year due to the emotional exhaustion I was inflicting on myself.

And also, there’s the spectre of the Rugby World Cup looming on the none too distant horizon, and I dont fancy gross rugby humiliation coming my way – it was bad enough last week agains the All Blacks, but perhaps we can put that behind us and get on with things. Come on Scotland!

2 thoughts on “IRB world rankings

Leave a Reply

