Turn! Turn! Turn!

The Byrds had it right, for everything there is a season.

They were right about the turning thing too.

Of course they nicked the idea from Ecclesiastes – fair play to them. Most days I’d rather listen to them sing about it, than read the book itself (shameful I know).

But there are certainly seasons in life, I’m in one right now, a season of work and busy-ness, as well as the seemingly perpetual angst over where we are going to live next – we’re getting turfed out of our new house by the landlords (Church of England) who want to install somebody else (clergyman). No the irony is not lost on me.

Anyway, for those who aren’t aware, I started working for a website called Christian.co.uk in January, I’m the news editor, although right now I’m doing more feature writing than anything else – here’s one you might enjoy if you like musical whimsy, and here’s another if you’re interested in trends in Christian spirituality.

So, what with mounting work commitments, I suppose naturally enough I fell in to a kind blogging sabbatical, particularly as the dreaded facebook (so long resisted, with such futile results) now seems to fulfil the need for short inane posts about life. However, I’ve really missed blogging – and I now have a plan to return to this blog, with regular posts on subjects which generally get no traction on short form places like Facebook.

Starting this week then, you can once again expect missives from my slightly cluttered, but nonetheless interesting, desk in the spacious study of a soon to be vacated Grimsby parsonage. What would encourage me is if you can comment, share interesting articles and so on. I appreciate I probably don’t do the same for you, but hey – I’m one dimensional.

3 thoughts on “Turn! Turn! Turn!

  1. I think the simple answer is no you can’t turn them off. And I don’t think you do see them if you are logged into wordpress.com, but I wouldn’t bet my life on it.

    The current one is advising me to click to drop three dress sizes.

Leave a Reply

